Reading & Phonics

Throughout Key stage 1 and early Key stage 2 we use the UK's number one reading programme, Oxford Reading Tree which we feel gives children the very best start.

The children love the familiarity of the characters.

  • Teach - using systematic phonics resources and training that really work
  • Practise - with more decodable readers than any other reading programme
  • Offer richer reading - through a huge selection of stories with children's best-loved characters
  • Bridge the gap - with support for the transition from phonics into richer reading
  • Make progress - through careful levelling
  • Support parents - with detailed inside cover notes in every title

Phonics teaching is a fun and child centred approach to teaching literacy through synthetic phonics. With actions for each of the 42 letter sounds, the multi-sensory method is very motivating for children and teachers, who can see their students achieve.

The sounds are taught in a specific order (not alphabetically). This enables children to begin building words as early as possible.

The five phases taught in Phonic are;

  1. Learning the letter sounds
    Children are taught the 42 main letter sounds. This includes alphabet sounds as well as digraphs such as sh, th, ai and ue.
  2. Learning letter formation
    Using different multi-sensory methods, children learn how to form and write the letters.
  3. Blending
    Children are taught how to blend the sounds together to read and write new words.
  4. Identifying the sounds in words (Segmenting)
    Listening for the sounds in words gives children the best start for improving spelling.
  5. Tricky words
    Tricky words have irregular spellings and children learn these separately.